Matchsticks.jpg

 

Our leaders build synergy across biology, engineering and systems development.

Project Management Team

Professor Ben Hankamer

Project Leader

b.hankamer@imb.uq.edu.au

Director, Solar Biofuels Consortium, (Eisenhower and DORA fellow)

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland

Key Research Focus: Optimisation of microalgae production

Specialisation: Microbiology, molecular biology, structural biology and techno-economic modelling

Professor Dr Olaf Kruse

Chief Investigator

olaf.kruse@uni-bielefeld.de

Director, Solar Biofuels Consortium

CeBiTec – Centre for Biotechnology, Bielefeld University

Key Research Focus: Optimisation of microalgae production

Specialisation: Microbiology, molecular biology and metabolomics

Professor Dr Clemens Posten

Chief Investigator

clemens.posten@kit.edu

Director, Solar Biofuels Consortium

Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences: Bioprocess Engineering, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Member of board of directors at the Institute of Life Science Engineering

Key Research Focus: Process engineering in photobiotechnology

Specialisation: Reactor development, modelling and process control

Garry Henderson

Principal Process Engineer, Algae Development Manager

garry.henderson@kbr.com

Kellog Brown & Root (KBR)

Specialisation: Process engineering

Pauliina Uronen

Algae Research Project Manager

Kristin Devlin

Group Environmental, Health & Sustainability Manager

Dr Manfred Baldauf

Chemist & Engineering

Naomi Epstein

Project Manager

naomi@uq.edu.au

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland

Project Scientific Team

Dr Evan Stephens

Pilot Plant Manager

e.stephens@imb.uq.edu.au

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland

Key Research Focus: Strain development, scale up and industry modelling 

Specialisation: Data analysis, biochemistry, biotechnology, science, lifesciences, genetics, biofuels, technology transfer, molecular biology and research

Dr Ian Ross

Senior Biologist

i.ross@imb.uq.edu.au

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland

Dr Anja Doebbe

Senior Biochemist

Juliane Wolf

MSc Biotechnology, PhD Student

j.wolf@imb.uq.edu.au

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland

Gisela Jakob

Dipl. Ing Environmental Engineering (FH), PhD Student

g.jakob@imb.uq.edu.au

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland

Sven Steinbusch

PhD Student